First trip ever to the Great Wall of China

First of all, I have to admitted that this trip might not be my “first trip ever” because my mom said that I have been in Hong Kong since I was a 5 months pregnant baby in her little belly. So basically, my first trip was in Hong Kong I guess 😛  However, this trip was probably the oldest trip I can recall so I’m going to consider it as my first trip.

Let’s get started with my (not) first time abroad ever! It was the trip to Beijing, China when I was 5 a year-old- girl. I went there with my very big family consisting of my family of 5 members (dad,mom,sister,brother and me) and my cousins. Back then, I remembered that my big family used to travel together but we started to travel separately since my grandpa who usually stayed home told us that he didn’t want his whole big family to go abroad together. His reason made me laugh at first. He said that he afraid the plane might crashes and he didn’t want to lose all of his beloved child and grandchild. I don’t know why but I just love my grandpa statement lol. I mean who knows!, it could happen. But, I honestly missed the time my whole big family traveled together.

b5

There was just a few of us in this picture. We took this picture on the Great Wall of China.

My only memory about this trip to Beijing is that I went to the Great Wall of China. Don’t blame me guys, I was just an innocent girl back then. So before I begin with my journey to the Great Wall of China, I will tell you guys a little history of this place. The Great Wall of China is one of the recognizable symbol of China. It was built over 2,000 years ago by different dynasties to protect different territorial borders. It’s often said that the Emperor Qin Shi Huang was the first one started building the wall. The Great Wall was built to prevent invasion from northern nations and to protect Silk Road Trade.The wall is one of the most extensive construction projects ever completed and it is  considered to be the seven wonders of the world.

 

b4

My dad was giving up on climbing the wall.

 

b1.jpg

That’s me and my older brother

I remembered that we arrived there around 11am and we spent a whole day there. At first we were walking along the path together. My dad came up with the game that who ever gets to the highest point among all of us will get a gift. Therefore, everyone was eager to win this game. As you see in the picture, my dad who was the one who came up with the game quit! and guess who was the next loser…. me. So I remembered we were just resting, taking lots of photos, walking down and waiting for the others. 

Lastly, I want to say that The Great Wall of China should definitely be on the top list of every travellers. The wall was built with wisdom, dedication, blood, sweat and tears of Chinese people during that time. Moreover, Beijing nowadays is much more developed compared to the time I went so I think there should be a lot of things out there that worth for the travellers to visit.

This is my first travel diary ever so I hope you guys enjoy reading this. Please feel free to share you first trip ever with me and stay tuned for my next journey!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

