A Sweet Escape in Siem Reap

Hello all my readers 🙂 How was your weekend? Mine was great so I hope you guys have a great one too! This week I’m taking you guys to a place full of culture and tradition. This place is our neighbouring countries. Get Ready and let’s travel to Siem Reap with me!

IMG_4475.jpg

Siem Reap is a capital city of Cambodia. It is one of the most popular tourist destinations as it is the gateway to the temples of Angkor. I went to Siem Reap in July last year. At the time I was kind of frustrated with my life so I planned a short trip to somewhere close. Siem Reap finally became the place I chose and I could call this trip a sweet escape one to hide away from it all. It took just only around an hour on board and I spent 4 days there.

victoria-angkor-resort.jpg

As soon as I arrived at the airport, the van from the hotel came and picked me up. I stayed at the Victoria Angkor Resort & Spa for the whole trip. It is a five-star hotel and I could say that it was a great one. Also, the resort located just a few minute to the town centre.

10801509_10154949442160298_970924315840717298_n.jpg

I traveled around Siem Reap by Tuk Tuk. Basically, I rent the same one for the whole trip but I couldn’t remember the price. David was the driver and he was also my tour guide. Actually, I known him because of my sister. She went to Siem Reap for a several times and she always contacts David to take her around.

IMG_4510.JPG

Tonle Sap Lake was the first place of the trip. It located approximately 15km from the town. Unfortunately, the road to get there was under the construction so we had to change to another road which took more time. It was a Tuk Tuk ride across a bumpy dusty road so I was extremely tired when I got there.

IMG_4527.jpg

From my point of view, I didn’t enjoy the trip to Tonle Sap that much because the way to get there was very harsh and there is not that many things to see. However, if you are the person who wants to see the local Cambodian lives on the water, I really recommend you to experience this place. I’m quite sure that the road is much better now.

IMG_4628.jpg

IMG_4544.jpg

I got back from Tonle Sap in the evening and decided to have a dinner at Pub Street in the town center. It is an ideal for a night out in Siem Reap. I chose to find the one that provides local Cambodian dishes. There were many bars and restaurants so I chose the one that provides local Cambodian dishes.

IMG_4548.jpg

img_4557

I decided to have a dinner that the restaurant called ‘Amok’. I loved the decoration of this place and that’s probably the reason why I chose. However, the food was delicious and the service was great.

I think their food taste similarly to Thai food. I’m so sorry that I couldn’t remember the name of the dishes. The one I could remember is ‘Amok’. It is fish mix with coconut curry and is steamed in a banana leaf. It tasted really good so no wonder why this dish is the most popular Cambodian food.

After I had a dinner, I just wandered around Pub Street. There were many souvenir shops as well. Most of the item were wood carvings and stone figure antiques. I bought several items and ended the first day with a body massage before heading back to the resort.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

