Social Media & Travel Industry

Hello guys! Welcome back again to ‘The World As I See It’  your most favorite blog ever lol. I have to say Happy New Year 2017 to all of my wonderful readers!  So how are you guys doing? I hope you all are doing good because I could say that I really enjoy my 1 month break from the university life. I probably took a break for too long but now I’m back with some more interesting things adding to my blog. So if you guys keep following my blog, you would see that the previous posts were all about my travel experiences. However, I’m coming back with a bit change to each post later on. This time I’m hoping to give you guys more information about how the social media and society has an impact on each travel destinations. Is that sounds more interesting?

But before we focus on each places. I want to give a basic knowledge about the impact of the social media to the travel industry.

social-media-optimization

First of all, we have to know what is the term ‘social media’ really means?

According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary

The term ‘social’ means something of or relating to human society, the interaction of the individual and the group, or the welfare of human beings as members of society

The term ‘media’ means the system and organizations of communication through which information is spread to a large number of people

From these two terms, we can combine and get a basic definition of social media which is the web-based communication tools that enable people to interact with each other by both sharing and consuming information.

o-BRAVE-NEW-WORLD-facebook.jpg

Social media is a phrase that we all heard a lot these days. Almost everything in our daily life has got to do with the social media. For examples, we love to keep up the news, share our lives, make new friends and contact with friends and family through the social media. Nowadays, there are several social media platforms that are very popular such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Snapchat.

In these days, we couldn’t deny that social media has provided many opportunities in many businesses and industries in all categories. It is a useful tools that helps promote the brands and helps the company to achieve the business goals. The reason why social media is so useful is because most of social media platforms are free to use. Also, some of the platform has paid advertising option specifically for brands that want to reach even more new audiences. Therefore, it is very easy for everyone to start using it. Also, some of the platform has paid advertising option specifically for brands that want to reach even more new audiences.

Ingle-International-Travel-Insurance-3.jpg

Reading up to this point, I bet you guys wonder how social media related to the travel industry. Social media has a big impact on the travel industry by completely revolutionized by social media platforms like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Social media has allowed travelers to provide an almost interactive experience with their followers. They do this by posting status, pictures and videos on their social media account or they may also do the check-in when they travel to different places.

According to eMarketer, approximately one-fifth of leisure travellers worldwide turn to social media platforms for inspiration within different categories of their travel planning including:

  • Hotels (23%)
  • Vacation activities (22%)
  • Attractions (21%)
  • Restaurants (17%)

And can you guys guess which social media platform is most used by travelers? I bet you are all correct. Yes, it is Facebook!

facebookIcon.jpg

Facebook is one of the prime destinations for sharing life events and travel related content. 52 percent of users surveyed said their friend’s photos inspired travel plans, and 76 percent post their vacation photos to social networks.

During vacation, 55 percent of those surveyed liked pages relating to the trip they were planning. It can be clearly seen that social media is an important research tool for vacationers.

Screen Shot 2017-02-07 at 3.05.34 PM.png

I have to say that I’m also the one who always get the travel inspiration on Facebook either  from the posts of my friends or all those travel fan pages.  I always come up with the new travel destination every time I see all these posts. The picture above is one of my favorite travel pages. The page is named ‘World Of Wanderlust’ . It has founded since 2012. The admin of this page update all the posts and pictures of herself traveling to many different places. She is also writes about all the tips, tricks and many useful information about each destination. I found that these travel pages are very useful because I have got an idea of where to go and what to do on each destination. For example, I can check out the best restaurant there or which activity or site that I must go visit there.

As I mentioned before that there are so many social media platforms so obviously Facebook is not the only option people have. Many other ones also has an influence on the travel industry but I have to admit that the features and functions in Facebook made it very easy to be the popular one.

 

I hope you guys got a better idea of how the social media related to all the travel trends nowadays. Thanks for keep following up with my blog and I’ll see you again soon 🙂

 

 

 

One comment

  1. Interesting article! Even though you shouldn’t have to look up social media in the dictionary after passing JM202 😛 However I do wonder how this all relates to ‘mass media & society’? Would be nice to see some clearer analysis there next time as I think travel is a very good topic to write about in this regard. Looking forward to your next post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

